Academic GeoForAll Track is co-organised by ISPRS, OSGeo and ICA. It relates progress of scientific research and experiences on using and teaching FOSS4G.


Following an established tradition, FOSS4G Europe 2017 organizes an academic track which will run as a single-track over one day. We invite original research contributions scientific papers dealing with Open Data, Open Software, Open Hardware and Open Science. Submissions focusing on INSPIRE, Big Data, Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing and Societal Challenges are particularly encouraged.


Authors are invited to submit papers dealing with original and unpublished research on themes related to the Conference. Submitted papers will be refereed for quality, originality and relevance by the Scientific Committee.

Accepted papers will be submitted in the Proceedings of the Academic Track, which are “The International Archives of the Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Spatial Information Sciences” which are listed in the ISI Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI) of the Web of Science, SCOPUS, and the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)..

The contributions are accepted on an abstract review process, which, if accepted, are followed by a full paper.

All abstracts should be written in English comprising 500‐800 words and containing sufficient details for evaluation (including the approach, results, concepts, reasons why it should be considered and why it would be interesting for the audience).

A blind review process will select abstract based on their merits in scientific novelty, relation to the state of the art, presentation of the paper and overall quality. Authors will receive feedback and suggestions for improvement to their paper before submission of the camera ready version of the paper.

Submission deadline is April 17, 2017

Acceptance notice is May 2, 2017

Once the contribution is accepted, authors are required to send the corresponding full paper.

All papers should be formatted as per ISPRS author's guidelines (download here)

Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings provided at least one author is registered for the conference before the early registration date.

Camera ready paper has to be submitted by May 26, 2017

Selected papers will be invited to be extended for peer‐review with possible publication in the following:

Please submit your paper using the conference tool via the easychair website. Submission closed!

Please submit your full paper using the conference tool via the easychair website.

Important dates

The important dates for the Academic Track are indicated below. Please follow the conference mailing list and @foss4ge to get the latest news.
  • Submission deadline: April 17, 2017
  • Acceptance notice: May 2, 2017
  • Camera ready version: May 26, 2017
  • Conference: July 19, 2017


Proposals will be assessed by the Academic Track Committee and selected on their overall quality (such as originality and clarity) and relevance.

The Academic Track Committee is composed of the following individuals:

First name Last name Organization
Giorgio AGUGIARO Austrian Institute of Technology
Filip BILIECKI Delft University of Technology
Maria A. BROVELLI Politecnico di Milano
Massimiliano CANNATA SUPSI
Aleš ČEPEK Czech Technical University in Prague
Yann CHEMIN freelance
Filiberto CHIABRANDO Politecnico di Torino
Mattia CRESPI University of Rome “La Sapienza”
Ari JOLMA Finnish Environment Institute
Dimitris KOTZINOS University of Cergy-Pontoise
Mila N. KOEVA University of Twente
Helmut KUDRNOVSKY freelance
Xianlian LIANG Finnish Geospatial Research Instittute
Andrea LINGUA Politecnico di Torino
Peter LOWE German National Library of Science and Technology
Maria Teresa MELIS University of Cagliari
Marco MINGHINI Politecnico di Milano
Helena MITASOVA NC State University
Peter MOONEY Maynooth University
Andrea NASCETTI University of Rome “La Sapienza”
Markus NETELER Mundialis
Francesco NEX University of Twente
Marco PIRAS Politecnico di Torino
Venkatesh RAGHAVAN Osaka City University
Robert SZCZEPANEK Cracow University of Technology
Wei TU Shenzhen Key Laboratory of Spatial-temporal Smart Sensing and Services

For any question about the Academic Track, please contact the Committee Chairs: Dimitri Kotzinoz and Maria Brovelli or the Co-Chairs: Nicolas Paparoditis and Venkatesh Raghavan.